Skip navigation

Day Four, Cocktail Five

As I was cutting the grass after work this evening it sure was starting to feel like summer…well, at least that summer is just around the corner.  In the past I’ve been pretty much a gin and tonic man in the summer months.  Fortunately, as my cocktail adventures have expanded my horizons, I’ve explored a number of warm weather concoctions.  For example, a couple of years ago I went through my “Tiki Summer” (more on that later). 

Sooo, I started thinking about the other summer drinks I’ve enjoyed.  One of my favorites was a Sea Breeze.  I first came across this while sitting on the deck of a beachfront bar that is long gone (including the name from my memory) located in Erie, PA on Presque Isle.  It’s a mix of vodka, cranberry and grapefruit and is garnished with a lime wedge.  The mix between the sweet cranberry and the tart grapefruit is fabulous and it’s an incredibly refreshing drink that goes down very easy (it’s a good think I only lived a block from that beach front bar!). 

Presque Isle is the only place on Lake Erie that you watch the sunset over the water from the beach!

 Well, the thought of that Sea Breeze and the beach got me thinking about grapefruit and vodka and … St. Germain.  Mark Stoffel and I have always thought St. Germain would be a natural with grapefruit juice.  So, tonight I gave it a whirl.  It took a couple of attempts, but I’ve come up with the recipe that I think is a great pairing of sweet and tart and is ever so seductive.

  The Lake Breeze

  • 1-1/2 oz Luksusowa vodka
  • 1/2 oz St. Germain
  • 3-1/2 oz ruby red grapefruit juice

 

Combine the ingredients in a rocks glass filled with ice and stir.  Garnish with a lime wedge.

Try this tasty cocktail while you sit back and think of a beach at sunset and let me know what you think!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

