Skip navigation

Day Six, Cocktail Seven

Today’s cocktail has become a personal favorite and Gwen has become a big fan of it as well.  I’ve been a fan of Hendrick’s gin for a couple of years now.  There’s just something about the cucumber flavor in Hendricks that I really, really like.  So, it has become one of the three gins that I keep at The Twilight Lounge.  Last summer I tried my hand at several cucumber flavored drinks (I even tried to concoct a cucumber puree to use), but never really had any success. 

Well, several months ago I was at Bryant’s Cocktail Lounge (check them out at www.bryantscocktaillounge.com) and in the mood for something with gin when I spied a cucumber behind the bar.  I asked Chad Doll, the extraordinary bartender there, to mix me up something that had Hendricks and the cucumber in it.  He served up a wonderful drink called Love and Happiness.  Since then I’ve been making them on a regular basis at The Twilight Lounge.  It’s another one of those refreshing, summer time cocktails (and since we cracked 70 here on the last day of April, it sure feels like summer!).  So, here you go:

  Love and Happiness

  • 2 oz Hendricks gin
  • 1/2 oz St. Germain
  • tonic water

 

Muddle 2 slices (about 3/16″ thick each) in the bottom of a glass.  Add 4-5 ice cubes and the Hendricks and St. Germain.  Stir rapidly.  Strain into a rocks glass filled with 3-4 ice cubes.  Top with tonic water and garnish with a lime slice.

The interplay between the Hendricks, cucumber and St. Germain is sublime, providing a slightly sweet and completely refreshing drink.  Try one!

Cheers!

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] weekend.  Saturday night started with a cocktail at Bryant’s with Gwen.  She had her usual Love and Happiness while I asked Michael for something with rye and maraschino liqueur.  His answer was an unnamed […]

  2. […] inspiration for this was the Love and Happiness.  However, rather than muddling cucumber I used my juicer to squeeze cucumber slices.  And, since […]

  3. […] a twist on one of my favorite spring/summer cocktails, this takes the Love and Happiness a step further with the addition of the mint.  The flavors of the Hendrick’s, cucumber, […]

Leave a Reply

