Skip navigation

Day Ten, Cocktail Ten

Ahhh, Cinco de Mayo is nearly upon us!  Another great opportunity to drink, this time tequila!  I still vividly remember my first Cinco de Mayo in Monterrey, Mexico.  I was there on business and began asking my associates several days before the 5th how they would be celebrating.  I assumed, as most Americans do, that it was the Mexican equivalent to our Fourth of July.  Boy, was I wrong!  I recieved a number of quizzical looks until I explained that in the States there were Cinco de Mayo parties to celebrate.  As far as my hosts were concerned it was May 5th.  So, just like St. Paddy’s day, Cinco de Mayo is just an American excuse to drink (as if we need another excuse to drink!).

Whew!  Well, I’m still in the mood to get ready for tomorrow with a tequila drink tonight.  Here’s one I found in The Cocktail Bible:

  Blues In The Night

  • 1-1/2 oz tequila (I used Cazadores)
  • 1/2 oz Luxardo maraschino liqueur
  • 1/2 oz blue Curacao
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • lemon lime soda

 

Add the tequila, Luxardo, blue Curacao and lemon juice to a shaker filled with ice cubes. Shake vigorously until your shaker is frosted over. Pour over ice in a rocks glass and top with the soda. Garnish with a lemon peel.

I have to admit that I’ve not dabbled much with tequila. I have used the blue Curacao before to create blue martini style drinks. I am also just starting to explore with the Luxardo. Admitedly, it is somewhat of an acquired taste, but it is growing on me. Bottom line on this one is that I did enjoy it and it will become part of the reportaire going forward.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

