Skip navigation

Day 12, Cocktail 12

The mariachi bands have stopped playing, the sombrero has been packed away for another year (or until the next hat party at the Twilight Lounge).  So just how did it go yesterday?  Actually, pretty mellow.  Mark Stoffel and I ended up at Bryant’s Cocktail Lounge (a shock, I know) to sample some of their Cinco inspired offerings.  After a couple of good, but not spectacular tequila based drinks I tried the Sophia Loren.  I know, I know, it doesn’t sound like a Mexican drink, but it features mezcal, the very close cousin to tequila (mezcal is made from the maguey plant while tequila is from the agave plant).  This cocktail was very reminiscent of some of the older, craft cocktails I’ve had such as the Aviation.  The smokiness inherent in the mezcal came through and was wonderfully compliment to the brandy that is the base of this drink.  While I don’t have mezcal at the Twilight Lounge (one of the few liquors I don’t have), I will have to get a bottle and try this at home.

Sophia Loren wants you to try one at Bryant's!

 

In the meantime, I’ll just have to visit Bryant’s again…

The Sophia Loren

  • 2oz brandy
  • 1 oz cherry heering
  • 1/2 oz mezcal
  • 2 dashes Angosturo bitters

 

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass and stir with ice to chill.  Serve in a coupe, garnished with a flamed orange peel.

Now all you have to do is pop your favorite Sophia Loren movie into the DVD player, put your favorite smoking jacket on and enjoy!

Cheers!

 
2 Comments

  1. I love this cocktail…Try it with Calvados, preferably the bonded kind, for an entirely different experience. Great job Stan! Im looking forward to your future posts.

    • Thanks Chad – I will try the Calvados as well. I’m not that familar with Calvados, so it will be an experience for me.


Leave a Reply

