Skip navigation

A pair of Sagebrushes with their proud parents

Day 14, Cocktail 14   

Yesterday I posted the Sagebrush, a newly created recipe.  All day long today I just had this nagging feeling that I had rushed my post for it.  So when I got home after my Saturday Otto’s run for a few odds and ends for the Twilight Lounge I got to tinkering.  The result is the new and improved Sagebrush!  I replaced the ginger ale with a favorite of mine, Domain de Canton.  I also  added a pinch of kosher salt and a dash of Agnosturo bitters.  The addition of these two ingredients really helped to tie this cocktail together.  I do have to give a nod to Chad Doll for the inspiration to try the salt – see his post at http://thirdcoastcocktails.wordpress.com/2010/05/06/hey-bartender-misty-kalkofen/.   

   

  Sagebrush 

  • 2 oz Cazadores tequila
  • 1/2 oz Domaine de Canton
  • 1-1/2 oz cranberry juice
  • 1/8 oz bar syrup
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters
  • 2 sage leaves (for muddling)
  • sprig of sage (for garnish)

    

Fill a mixing glass with 1 oz crushed ice, 2 sage leaves and 1/8 oz of bar syrup.  Muddle thoroughly.  Add the Cazadores, Domaine de Canton and cranberry.  Stir vigourously to mix.  Strain into a rocks glass over 4-5 ice cubes.  Garnish with the sage sprig.   

This version comes together as a more complete cocktail with a smoother taste and more body than the original.  Give it a try!   

Cheers!   

Leave a Reply

