Skip navigation

Day 21, Cocktail 20

An unplanned trip to Germantown’s Maifest last night delayed yesterday’s post.  Don’t worry, I still got the cocktail in!

So, as I’m driving home from work yesterday my mind was spinning through how to finish up maraschino week.  I had already used most of the recipes that I had the ingredients for.  I was itching to see if I could come up with something original.  Gwen had already called to tell me that she would be sitting out front with our neighbors Mark and Pam enjoying a drink (like that’s never happened before…).  Wait, I’m rambling…where was I, oh yeah, what to mix maraschino with…

Orange and strawberry both have seemed like good candidates to me.  As I thought this through, I decided to use vodka as my base.  You won’t see me using vodka that much, especially flavored vodkas.  But in this case I thought vodka would be a good base to allow the other flavors I wanted to use to come through.  I also have a bottle of Mathilde Pear Liqueur that I’ve been anxious to try (more on that in a future post).

So, when I got down to the Twilight Lounge I pulled together my ingredients.  Smirnoff vodka, Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur, Mathilde Pear Liqueur, fresh oranges and strawberries, bar syrup and seltzer water.  As I played around with the Luxardo and Mathilde I realized that between these two and the fruit I was going to use that the bar syrup wasn’t going to be needed – there was plenty of sweetness to go around with add more sugar.  After a couple trials, I came up with this mix:

  Maraschino Soda

  • 1-1/2 oz Smirnoff vodka
  • 1/2 oz Mathilde Pear Liqueur
  • 3/8 oz Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur
  • 2 orange slices, about 1/8″ thick
  • 1 large strawberry, stem removed
  • seltzer water

In a rocks glass muddle the orange slices and strawberry.  Add the vodka, Mathilda and Luxardo.  Stir thoroughly.  Fill the glass with ice cubes and top with seltzer.  Garnish with a strawberry and orange wedge.

This definately hit the spot as a light, refreshing cocktail that I will definately be enjoying poolside when it warms up.  The vodka provides a nearly invisible base for the pear and maraschino flavors, which hold up well to the orange and straweberry juices.  Topping with the seltzer adds an evervescence that refreshes.  I hope you like this one!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

