Skip navigation

Day 26, Cocktail 26

I’m driving home this evening from a somewhat (although typical) long and stressful day.  The iPod is cranked when INXS’ “Suicide Blonde” comes on.  I turn the volume up a couple more notches (because my stereo goes to eleven, man) and start to get my groove on.  As I’m listening (“you want to make her, suicide blonde, love devastation, suicide blonde”) I begin to wonder just what would the suicide blonde drink?  A cocktail, for sure.  But what?  Not a martini, that’s too cliche for her.  A cosmo?  No way, that’s for girlie girls and she’s anything but.  Rye…yeah, that’s it.  A bit smoother than bourbon and not nearly as overplayed, just like the suicide blonde.  With what?  It’s got to be sophisticated, but not unapproachable.  It’s going to use some flavors that are not run of the mill.   Sounds like a job for St. Germain or Domaine de Canton.  Or both…

Fast forward several hours and I’m down in the Twilight Lounge, INXS thumping out on the vintage, quad-speakered Pioneer and I start lining up ingredients.  I’m fairly well settled on orange, lemon, Russell 6 Year Old Reserve Rye, St. Germain and Domaine de Canton.  I also know that I want bitters, but which to use?  Peychaud’s or Agnosturo?  When in doubt, try both!  I mixed up two of these hot numbers, one with Peychaud’s and one with Agnosturo.  While both were good, one was clearly better.  I needed to confirm it, so Gwen was pressed into tasting duty (like I had to twist her arm).  She agreed with my pick in a “blind” taste.  The winning bitters?  The Peychaud’s!  The orange of the Agnosturo just kind of blends in with the orange juice and rye.  The Peychaud’s adds just a bit of pop and another flavor dimension that really makes this cocktail rock.

  Suicide Blonde

  • 2 oz Russell’s 6-Year Old Reserve Rye
  • 1/2 oz St. Germain
  • 1/4 oz Domaine de Canton
  • 2 orange slices, about 1/8″ thick each
  • 1 lemon slice, about 1/8″ thick
  • 2 dashes Peychaud’s bitters

In a shaker glass muddle the orange and lemon slices.  Add 5-6 ice cubes and the remaining ingredients.  Stir thoroughly to chill and mix.  Strain into a large cocktail glass (I used my 6 oz glasses) and garnish with a flamed orange peel.

This is a great mix of flavors that are layered upon each other…the rye and citrus are a great base that allow the ginger of the Canton and the elderflower of the St. Germain to weave themselves in and out.  The Peychaud’s pulls it all together with a great finish that is bold.  This is definately going to be made often at the Twilight Lounge!

Cheers!

PS – Have a song that you want a cocktail made for?  Or maybe a movie that needs a drink?  Let me know and I’ll work out a pairing for you!

2 Comments

  1. Couldn’t live without my new found love of Rye. Tie that with citrus and Peychauds and I would believe this could only be excellent. Now for your damn Canton…well, I’ll gladly let you stir me one anytime

  2. Like I said, I an jealous that Gwen reaps the rewards of your blog!!! This one sounds delish!


Leave a Reply

