Skip navigation

Day 41, Cocktails 34 and 35

While sitting around this afternoon contemplating how to get caught up on my cocktails I pulled my copy of The Cocktail Bible off the shelf.  As I flipped through the classics section I came upon the Singapore Sling.  I’ve never had a Singapore Sling I thought to myself…well, no time like the present!

  Singapore Sling

  • 1 oz Plymouth gin
  • 1/2 oz cherry brandy
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/8 oz grenandine
  • seltzer water

Place several ice cubes in a shaker.  Add the gin, brandy, lemon juice and grenadine.  Shake well to mix.  Pour into a rocks glass half full with ice cubes.  Top with seltzer water and garnish with a lime peel and cocktail cherries.

To be honest, I wasn’t wild with this one.  It may be because I used Kirschwasser as my cherry brandy.  This is a German style brandy that borders on the harsh and is not at all sweet.

However, undaunted, I decided to try a variant using Heering cherry liqueur in place of the brandy.

  Heering Singapore Sling

  • 1 oz Plymouth gin
  • 1/4 oz Heering cherry liqueur
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/8 oz bar syrup
  • seltzer water

Combine the gin, Heering, lemon juice, and bar syrup in a shaker with ice cubes.  Shake well to combine.  Strain into a rocks glass about 1/2 full of ice cubes.  Top with seltzer water and garnish with a cherry and lemon peel.

This was a better effort than the original Singapore Sling, but still not quite right.  I had actually cut the Heering in half from my first version, but I think this one still needs some tweaking.  Give it a shot, put your twist on it and let me know what you come up with.

Cheers!

5 Comments

  1. Add fresh pineapple juice. Dee-lish.

    • That is an excellent suggestion – thanks!

  2. To clarify, I meant to the Heering recipe.

    • I’ll try that out Rich and let you know how it turned out!

  3. Here’s the supposed original sling recipe:

    The original from Raffles Hotel in Singapore is:
    1 1/2 ounce (30 ml) gin
    1/2 ounce (15 ml) Heering Cherry Liqueur
    1/4 ounce (7.5 ml) Cointreau
    1/4 ounce (7.5 ml DOM Benedictine
    4 ounces (120 ml) pineapple juice
    1/2 ounce (15 ml) lime juice
    1/3 ounce (10 ml) grenadine
    dash Angostura bitters


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] So, last Sunday I was at a bit of a loss so I picked up the Ultimate Bar Book and just started thumbing through the gin section.  I came across the Guggenheim, which fit my needs for something relatively simple and for which I had everything on hand.  It also kind of fit the stream of consciousness motif I’ve been in.  You see, this is a variant on a cocktail known as the Between the Sheets, which is itself a variant of the classic Singapore Sling.  […]

Leave a Reply

