Skip navigation

Exotic locales make for exotic drinks

Day 44, Cocktail 38

My business associate and friend Ashish was in Milwaukee last night ahead of our meeting today, so we got together for dinner and then cocktails.  The cocktails part will come in the next post, but while at Water Buffalo (a very nice 3rd Ward restaurant right on the river, I highly recommend it) Ashish ordered a shot of Maker’s Mark bourbon mixed with a shot of Amaretto while I sipped my usual martini (although I did get adventurous and had it made with Boodle’s Gin).  I asked him where on earth he had come up with that combination and he just grinned somewhat sheepishly and said he had ordered on a whim previously and that it was pretty good.  Having had a few Amaretto cocktails myself, I could see that this could be a winning combination and made a mental note to fool around with this pairing at the Twilight Lounge.

So, with everything else wrapped up for the night this evening I broke out the Maker’s Mark and Disaronno Amaretto.  I wanted to do more that just mix the two together as Ashish had.  I had an orange laying about and thought that it would add a nice backbeat.  I also knew that I’d want bitters in this and settled on Peychaud’s over Agnosturo since I was going to use some orange juice.  After a few tweaks I settled in on my recipe.

  Bollywood and Vine

  • 1-1/2 oz Maker’s Mark bourbon
  • 1 oz Disarnno Amaretto
  • 1/8 of an orange wedge (1/4 of 1/2 of an orange)
  • 3 dashes Peychaud’s bitters

In a mixing glass muddle the orange wedge to release the juice.  Add 3-4 cubes of ice and the remaining ingredients.  Stir vigorously to mix.  Strain into a rocks glass over 3-4 ice cubes.  Garnish with an orange wedge and cherry.

I added the extra bourbon from Ashish’s drink to tone down the Amaretto and give it more balance.  The citrus stays in the background while the Peychaud’s gives the drink a bit of earthiness. 

Ashish, thanks for the inspiration and I hope you like this!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

