Skip navigation

Rye, Brandy, Sweet Vermouth and Gin?

Day 65, Cocktail 61

Woo Hoo!  First, the good news.  While catching up on some e-mail I was reading through Colleen Graham’s cocktail newsletter and saw that my blog has made her blog roll!  Of course, I wish I had spelled Twilight Lounge correctly, but, hey, it’s a link!  By the way, if you haven’t checked out Colleen’s blog, I highly recommend it.  I subscribe to her newsletter and it always has interesting recipes as well as great tips, contests and more.

Next, on to a new cocktail for today.  I know that I’m in the middle of this grapefruit jag, and I’ll be returning to grapefruit tomorrow.  For today, though, I just had a hankering for rye.  In fact, this is one of those days that I would have liked to mix up one the drinks I’ve already done, such as a Cooper Brothers.  However, I take my duty here seriously and so I went to the Internet Cocktail DB.  (By the way, this is another very good online resource for drink recipes that allows searches by name and ingredient – very handy.)  A search for rye whiskey yielded a number of interesting looking cocktails.  It was the Chauncey that caught my eye.  Rye, brandy, sweet vermouth, sure, this all sounds very Manhattan like.  Then I saw it…gin…really?  You add gin to this thing?  I did some research and learned that this is a classic cocktail that’s been around since at least the 30’s.  I find the classics appealing.  I also liked the fact that I had all the ingredients and wouldn’t need any special liqueurs (although if I wasn’t living in Wisconsin the odds of me having brandy would have been small).

  Chauncey

  • 3/4 oz rye whiskey
  • 3/4 oz gin
  • 1/2 oz sweet vermouth
  • 1/2 oz brandy
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass with 4-5 ice cubes.  Stir thoroughly to mix and chill. Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

My mix of this cocktail used Russell’s Reserve Rye, Plymouth Gin, Noilly Prat Sweet Vermouth and Korbel Brandy.  As I was mixing this up I felt that the sweet vermouth would at the forefront, and I think I was correct.  The rye ends up providing the base while I get just a hint of the botanicals that are in the gin.  I’m sure part of this comes from using Plymouth, which is mild as far as gin goes.  The Agnosturo serves to help pull this together and ties it up into a nice little package.  Definately in the style of a Manhattan, I am enjoying this cocktail.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

