Skip navigation

Day 68, Cocktail 64

They say every thing is bigger in Texas.  Personally, I think Alaska is a bit bigger, but I guess I won’t quibble on the size issue.  What I do know is that this particular cocktail, sampled earlier this week while I was on my grapefruit binge was pretty good.  The original recipe called for honey, but I substituted Krupnik, my Polish honey flavored liqueur.  The results were very satisfying, producing a drink that was pleasant and balanced.  I continue to be amazed at how the krupnik / grapefruit combo works in so many different cocktails!  Saddle this one up on a warm, sunny afternoon and head for your favorite beach or pool!

  Tex Collins

  • 1-1/2 oz gin
  • 1-1/2 oz grapefruit juice
  • 1/2 oz krupnik honey liqueur
  • Seltzer water

Combine the gin, grapefruit juice and krupnik in a mixing glass with ice and stir to combine and chill.  Strain into a collins glass filled with ice cubes.  Top with the seltzer water.

Cheers!

2 Comments

  1. Hello!
    I’m an old Alaskan bartender and I wanted to say your recipe sounds
    great! I’m gonna have to look into finding some “Krupnik”

    Thanks a lot!
    Mike
    p.s. Alaska is bigger than Texas, California and Montana COMBINED!
    That’s right; COMBINED! It’s more than TWICE the size of Texas
    (2.4 times the size)

    • Glad you enjoyed it Mike – are you still in Alaska? I hope you can find the Krupnik up there!


Leave a Reply

