Skip navigation

James Thurber

Day 69, Cocktails 65, 66

“One martini is alright, two martinis are too many and three martinis are not enough.”  I have to say that James Thurber’s take on martinis is spot on!  Through the lens of history I remain jealous of the cohort that enjoyed the golden age of nightclubs, dining, entertainment and cocktails of the 50’s and 60’s, as Thurber did.

In our own little way Gwen and I try to relive the swank life when we are at home on Friday nights, such as last night.  After a swim in the pool and having fired up the grill we contemplated which movie to watch (Gwen’s job) and what martini style cocktail to enjoy (my job).  Normally the cocktail would be a straight up martini, but since I’m on this little adventure, the order of the day is something new.  Also, note that I wrote martini style cocktail.  To me, there is only one cockatil called a martini.  It does drive me to distraction when we go to a bar or lounge and are offered the opportunity to peruse the “martini” menu.  It’s not a martini menu, its a cocktail menu!  A martini is a cocktail!  It would be like going to an Italian restaurant and looking over the spaghetti section of the menu and seeing penne, ziti and linguine!

Whew, OK, I got that off my chest.  So, back to the cocktails for the night.  I pulled my copy of the “Martini Book” by Sally Ann Berk off the shelf down in the Twilight Lounge (I know, the book’s title is incorrect, but I’ve finished whining for now), and started browsing for a cocktail to make.  After a bit of searching I decided to try a modified version of what is called the Cold Comfort.

  Cold Comfort

  • 3 oz Chopin vodka
  • 1/4 oz lemon juice
  • 1/4 oz krupnik honey liqueur

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with 4-5 ice cubes and shake to chill.  Pour into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with a flamed lemon peel.

While not to Gwen’s liking I did enjoy this crisp, lemon – honey flavored drink built on a solid foundation of vodka.  At 3-1/2 oz of 80 proof liquor it definately qualifies as boozy, which makes it a good starter for a night in.

For round two I decided to strike out on my own after mixing up a virgin cocktail for #2 daughter that included orgeat syrup.  Orgeat is an almond flavored bar syrup, essential for any well stocked tiki bar (more on that topic in upcoming posts). 

  Blue Almond

  • 3 oz Chopin vodka
  • 1/4 oz Blue Curacao
  • 1/8 oz orgeat

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass with 4-5 ice cubes and stir, stir, stir to chill and mix.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with a lemon twist.

This was much more agreeable to Gwen and I enjoyed it as well.  I was able to strike a nice balance of orange flavor from the curacao with sweet almond from the orgeat.  Of course, the blue color is always pretty in a chilled cocktail glass.

As for the movie, we got about 1/2 way through Slumdog Millionaire.  Not exactly cocktail swilling fare, but a very powerful film.  If you haven’t seen it yet and want to feel fortunate for what you have then by all means, watch it.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

