Skip navigation

May I have a Pimm's Cup now?

Day 71, Cocktail 69

I hope you had a great 4th of July holiday – we certainly did!  Starting with the tailgate for the parade (and our Bloody Marys) through swimming in the pool (while enjoying a Kentucky Kiss) to the BBQ last night it was a great day.  Now, its time to move on!

I’d been waiting all summer for Wimbledon to do my write up for today’s cocktail, and I damn near missed it!  Congratulations to Serena Williams and Rafael Nadal on their victories.  We all know that strawberries and cream are the order of the day at Wimbeldon, along with white tennis outfits.  However, do you know what they drink at Wimbeldon?  Why, a Pimm’s Cup, of course. 

The Pimm’s Cup features Pimm’s Cup No. 1, an apertif developed and marketed by James Pimm back in the 1840’s.  While the full ingredient list of Pimm’s No. 1 is still secret, we do know that it is based on gin with herbs and quinine added.  When asked to describe the taste, the closest I can come is the coca cola syrup my mom used to give me when I had an upset stomach.  Other’s have likened it to sloe gin, although it is not that sweet.

During Wimbledon’s run some 40,000 pints of the Pimm’s Cup will be served.  In my book, this makes it as English as bangers and mash.  I hope you enjoy it!

  Pimm’s Cup

  • 1-1/2 oz Pimm’s No. 1
  • 3 oz fresh lemonade
  • Club soda

Combine all the ingredients in a highball glass and garnish with a cucumber slice.

This is a very refreshing drink, great on a warm summer day while watching tennis, or anything else for that matter!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

