Skip navigation

I wonder if Gin Wigmore drinks gin?

Day 72, Cocktail 72

After my ill fated foray into the Slow Comfortable Screw I just had to do something to get the sweet, syrupy taste out of my mouth.  What better way than a real cocktial made with real gin?  The real London Dry kind by the way, not the rockin’ Kiwi R&B artist who has the chops to be the next Amy Winehouse.  Several weeks ago I had bookmarked a recipe on Colleen Graham’s cocktail blog that she described as a variant to a martini.  Actually, it’s a variant on the Aviation, adding sweet vermouth to the gin, maraschino liqueur and lemon juice found in that classic that is a favorite of mine.  So I set to work and mixed one up for myself.  Not bad, but something is still missing.  The sweet vermouth needed to be offset by something.  Most of the cocktails with a “dark” component and maraschino usually work better with a dash or two of bitters. 

So, back to the shaker it was with this drink and a heavy dash of Agnosturo was added.  A few quick shakes and back into my cocktail glass….and….mmmm, delicious!  The Agnosturo adds just the “bite” this needs to balance against the sweet vermouth, bringing all the flavors into harmony.  I will be drinking this one again!

  Emerson

  • 2 oz Bombay gin
  • 1 oz sweet vermouth
  • 1/2 oz Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters

Combine all the ingredients in shaker with 4-5 ice cubes.  Shake to chill and mix.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with a lemon peel.

I’ve been sipping on mine as I write this and the flavors are just growing in their depth.  This is a really tasty treat!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

