Skip navigation

Day 84, Cocktail 87

I’ve got a bumper crop of cucumbers going, so what better way to use them than in a cocktail.  Sure, I could make pickles, but really, which would you rather do?

Down to the Twilight Lounge I went and started experimenting.  I decided to make a cucumber puree so that I could add it to whatever else I came up with.  It was pretty simple to do.  I took a large cuke, peeled it and sliced in half lengthwise so I could remove the seeds (a melon baller works really well, or a spoon will work as well).  I learned the hard way last year that taking the seeds out and peeling are important.  If you don’t you end up with a really gritty puree that’s not much fun in your cocktail.  One good sized cucumber (8″ or so, and get your mind out of the gutter) will yield about 5-6 ounces of puree.

Now, what to mix this with?  Well, gin is a natural, so I stuck with that for today (although I’m betting tequila and cucumber would hit it off well…hmmmm….).  I also love St. Germain with gin and cucumber.  I’ve also had cocktails in the past that muddled cucumber, orange and lime with gin. 

Eventually, and after several tries, this is what I came up with.

  Cukebayah

  • 1-1/2 oz Hendricks Gin
  • 3/4 oz St. Germain
  • 1/4 oz Cointreau
  • 1 oz cucumber puree
  • 1/2 oz lime juice

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass and stir to combine.  Pour into a collins glass filled with ice cubes.  Add 1-2 mint leaves, top with seltzer water and stir. 

This is a refreshing, cucumber flavored drink with just a hint of sweetness from the St. Germain.  Definately not your same old gin and tonic for those warm summer evenings!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

