Skip navigation

Day 82, Cocktail 86

Ok, first, before you start to flame me, I know that today is actually the 84th day of my journey.  But, this post is about Friday’s cocktail – I’m a day behind on my reporting…so, it is the 86th cocktail on the 82nd day.

Friday night was another stay at home evening for us.  Not that we’re boring old coots or anything, but we did go out on Thursday and had plans for Saturday night as well.  So, it was homemade pizza (Hawaiian, of course – it is Tiki Week after all) and Goldfinger on the DVR.  This is one of my favorite Bond movies of all time.  I mean, really, from my perspective what’s not to like when the Bond girl is named Pussy Galore?

Since we were staying in I thought it was a good time to try out a heavy duty tiki drink.  This recipe comes from Beachbum Jerry’s Intoxica! recipe book.  However, the credit for this recipe goes to Harry Yee.  This is a recipe that Yee developed at the Hawaiian Village Hotel bar on Waikiki Beach.  I don’t know if Yee had a limit on how many of these he would serve a customer, but I know that after two I was seeing double!

  Tropical Itch

  • 1-1/2 oz Bacardi 151 rum
  • 1 oz dark Jamaican rum
  • 1 oz bourbon
  • 1/2 oz orange curacao
  • 8 oz passion fruit juice
  • 2 dashes Agnosturo bitters

In a large mixing glass add all the ingredients and stir well.  Fill a large hurricane glass (or double collins glass, a large tiki glass or even a pint glass) with crushed ice.  Pour the mixed cocktail in over the ice.  Garnish with a pineapple chunk and a sprig of mint leaves.

What can I say – this was outstanding!  First, the passion fruit gives this drink a fruity dimension without being overly syrupy like pineapple juice can get.    The 151 is potent (duh!) and I used Appleton Reserve for the dark rum and Maker’s Mark for the bourbon – both high quality spirits that worked well.  Like I said above, after two of these each we were ready for a nap!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

