Skip navigation

Day 85, Cocktail 88

Back to cocktails tonight, but I still have some passion fruit juice left over from tiki week.  What to do?  Simple, pop open the Cocktail DB and do a search for passion fruit.  Well, if I can’t find one that I want to try from among the 48 recipes that popped up then I do have a serious problem. 

I selected a little number called the Jinx that calls for gin, Calvados, passion fruit juice and Angnosturo bitters.  I set about mixing one up down in the Twilight Lounge.  Into my shaker went ice, Bombay, Calvados and the passion fruit juice.  Shake, shake, shake and into a chilled cocktail glass.  Head for the lounge chair and the game, take a sip…and I forgot the Agnosturo.  No big deal, right.  Wrong!  My first couple of sips tasted a bit disjointed and the Calvados was giving me a harsh edge.  Back to the bar to pour this baby back into the shaker and add the dash of Agnosturo bitters that it called for.  A few shakes and back into the glass.  What a difference!  The Agnosturo was the glue that pulled this cocktail together, smoothing the Calvados and briding the apple flavor to the passion fruit.

So, tempted to skip the bitters?  Go ahead, and make it without it.  Take a couple of sips and then put the drink back in the shaker and add the bitters.  Trust me, you’ll taste the difference!

  Jinx

  • 1 oz gin
  • 1 oz Calvados
  • 1 oz passion fruit juice
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with ice.  Shake to mix and chill.  Pour into a chilled cocktail glass.  No garnish needed!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

