Skip navigation

Day 86, Cocktail 89

Yep, it’s another obtuse and obscure post title…what can I say?  Hall and Oates popped into my mind mostly because I’ve been listening to The Bird and The Bee’s new release “Interpeting the Masters, Vol. 1 (A Tribute to Daryll Hall and John Oates)”.  Wow, I never thought I’d see Hall and Oates regarded as masters.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed them in the 80’s just like everyone else.  It’s just, well, really, Masters?  Any way, if you have not heard of The Bird and The Bee, check ’em out.  You’ll thank me some day.

So, back to cocktails.  I was idly flipping through The Cocktail Bible this evening looking for something to catch my eye.  I’ve still got a bunch of drinks bookmarked that I’ve not tried, but none of them were tickling my fancy.  Then, I turned the page, and there it was.  A cocktail called the Indian Summer.  Vodka, gin, pineapple juice, all good.  Kahlua?  Really?  I’m not a coffee fan (witnessed by the fact that the bottle of Kahlua sitting at the back of the liqueur shelf at the Twilight Lounge moved here with us from St. Louis).  But I thought, what the heck.

As I pulled out the vodka, I saw my bottle of Kajmir sitting there, all lonely as well.  While it’s not been around as long as my Kahlua, this bottle has had a couple of birthday’s.  It was a gift and I just haven’t found too many ways to use the offbeat liqueur that is a blend of brandy, vodka and vanilla.  At 40 proof, its not that strong.  It just goes against my not using flavored vodka grain I guess.  However, as I contemplated the Kahlua I was about to use, I thought that the vanilla flavor would be a nice compliment.  Thus, the Mocha Summer was born.

  Mocha Summer

  • 1 oz Kahlua liqueur
  • 1/2 oz Bombay gin
  • 1/2 oz Kajmir liqueur
  • 1 oz pineapple juice
  • tonic water, about 1/2 oz

In a shaker with 4-5 ice cubes combine the Kahlua, Bombay, Kajmir and pineapple juice.  Shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Pour into a chilled cocktail glass (you’ll need your 6 ouncer for this one) and then top with about 1/2 oz of tonic water.  If you really want to go uptown, shave some dark chocolate on the top for a garnish.

The vanilla in the Kajmir did it’s job and blended with the Kahlua to give a chocolate flavor the drink.  Meanwhile, the tonic water just lightened this up enough to keep it from being too heavy.  When Gwen took her first sip I thought she had just died and gone to heaven!  I’m pretty sure we’ll see this again at the Twilight Lounge.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

