Skip navigation

Day 100, Cocktail 99

Just got back from Greg and Pattie’s, and yes, I loved my Sazerac!  But as I expected, no else did.  Fortunately, I had already worked out Plan B, which worked out marvellously!  I’ve had several tequila – ginger combinations over the last three months and had decided to leverage that same combination again.  The twist tonight was using Domaine de Canton in place of ginger ale.  The result was quite tasty and well recieved as everyone had two rounds before we left for the night.

  Katie

  • 1-1/2 oz tequila
  • 1/2 oz Domaine de Canton
  • 1/2 oz lime juice
  • lemon lime soda

In a mixing glass combine the tequila, Canton and lime juice with ice.  Stir to mix and chill.  Strain into a collins glass filled with ice and top with lemon lime soda.  Give it a quick stir, garnish with a lemon or lime wedge, and serve.

A very light and refreshing take on the mule style drinks, and it was enjoyed by all.  Good luck in New Orleans Katie!

Cheers!

7 Comments

  1. sounds really good! I’ll have to try it soon 🙂 BTW, I didn’t get a chance to hand off that vintage cocktail book to Greg for you, but I am likely to see him this weekend some time. Haere’s lookin’ up yer old address!

    • Thanks Lynn! I’m looking forward to playing around with more of the old classics!

  2. So it took me a little longer then it should have and a sleepless night to wonder upon your wonderful blog, but once i did I remember that you named the drink Katie at the house and had to see if it made it to print or not.

    It makes me happy to see that it made it!

    Thanks for the well wishes, I am loving work (I got to wear heels today! that is a big deal after a year of wearing cut off shorts and a dirty bright orange construction crew t-shirt) but I am dying from the heat – i have to find the alcohol needed to create this concoction for myself – yum!

  3. Also what’s with the grass hopper – i am lost as to the connection

    • That’s actually a katydid – which is in the grasshopper family. I realize that it does occasionally get lame, but it was either that or a picture of you…maybe I should have gone with your pic!

  4. One more for good measure – suggestion – I want to search by date – what was your first, what did you make during the different seasons that kind of thing. Am I completely missing this option or can you make it?

    • Wow, great suggestion, but I’d have to build a chronology into the blog. The posts are chronological, if you scroll back far enough you’ll find the very first post. I’ll have to think about how to put together an index page by date. The first cocktail was a Blanc Germain. And I definately do follow the seasons. I’m already planning a week of Halloween drinks!


Leave a Reply

