Skip navigation

Day 103, Cocktail 102

“Well Portland Oregon and sloe gin fizz
If that ain’t love then tell me what is
Well I lost my heart it didn’t take no time
But that ain’t all. I lost my mind in Oregon

In a booth in the corner with the lights down low
I was movin’ in fast she was takin’ it slow
Well I looked at him and caught him lookin’ at me
I knew right then we were playin’ free in Oregon

Next day we knew last night got drunk
But we loved enough for the both of us
In the morning when the night had sobered up
It was much too late for the both of us in Oregon

Well sloe gin fizz works mighty fast
When you drink it by the pitcher and not by the glass
Hey bartender before you close
Pour us one more drink and a pitcher to go

And a pitcher to go [repeat]”

Well, a sloe gin fizz worked for Loretta Lynn and Jack Black.  The above lyrics are from their song Portland, Oregon which is on Loretta’s Van Lear Rose album.  I know, it’s hard to imagine Loretta Lynn doing a duet with Jack Black, but then again I never understood Julia Roberts interest in Lyle Lovett.

So, the last time I had a sloe gin fizz was the 1981 Engineering Formal, affectionately known as the Gear Ball.  My date requested them for this BYOB event (that figures, she was a Tri Delt after all).  Maybe if I had had the same outcome as Loretta and Jack I might have felt better about drinking these all night long…

Just what is sloe gin anyway?  Traditionally it was essentially gin infused with sloe berries, which are the fruit of the blackthorn.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any sloe berries handy (as you know, I certainly had the gin), so I used Du Bouchett Creamy Head Sloe Gin.  This is made with distilled grain alcohol flavored with sloe berries and other sweeteners.  Something tells me that the traditional method yields a better product.  If you’ve ever made your own sloe gin I’d love to hear about it!

  Sloe Gin Fizz

  • 1-1/2 oz sloe gin
  • 1 oz lemon juice
  • 1/8 oz bar syrup
  • selzter water

Combine the ingredients in a shaker with ice.  Shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a collins glass filled with ice cubes and top with seltzer water.

To be honest, the Du Bouchett is just a tad to sweet and red for my taste.  I could get through one, but not something to drink all night by a long shot.  I’ll consider this to be taking one for team.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

