Skip navigation

Day 128, Cocktail 128

First, the good news.  Not one, but two of my submissions for Colleen Graham’s August bourbon cocktail recipe contest at About.com have been published!  I’m really excited because only six cocktails have been published from the contest!  (Please don’t pop my bubble and tell me that their were only six submissions!)  Published on the web site were the Badlands and my Daddy-O Patio Bourbon Cooler.  Woo hoo!

Ok, got that out of my system – although I am still pretty stoked!

So Mark Stoffel stopped by tonight to drop of daughter number 2 after she had babysat.  He dropped on down to the Twilight Lounge and helped me with tonight’s cocktail.  I have some pineapple juice left over from last night, so I started searching for something that uses pineapple on the CocktailDB.  I found the Algonquin, a classic cocktail named for the Algonquin Hotel in New York.  In the 1920’s the Algonquin hosted a roundtable of writers and poets of the era including Dorothy Parker and Robert Sherwood.  This was one of their cocktails.

  Algonquin

  • 2 oz rye whiskey
  • 1/2 oz dry vermouth
  • 1 oz pineapple juice

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with 4-5 ice cubes and shake, shake, shake.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish (and this is optional) with a cherry.

This was actually the second verson of the Algonquin that we made tonight, and was the one I preferred.  This recipe came from the Ultimate Bar Book by Mittie Hellmich.  I thought this version was a little mellower, with the rye taking center stage.  The original recipe I tried tonight from the CocktailDB used 1-1/2 oz of rye, 3/4 oz dry vermouth and 3/4 oz pineapple juice.  In this version the vermouth was dominant and just didn’t seem to play as well with the pineapple and rye. 

What I find interesting about tonight’s experience is that this isn’t the first time that I’ve found different proportions of ingredients for classic cocktails.  The lesson for me is that if you don’t quite like the way a classic (or any cocktail for that matter) tastes, tinker with it so that you do like it.

Cheers!

2 Comments

  1. Yo Stan!

    Congrats on getting published! Very exciting indeed!

    The Algonquin sounds tasty. I’ll have to give it a try. Think it would work with Buffalo Trace Bourbon if I added a dash or two of bitters to spice things up a bit? I’m all out of Rye.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Thanks G-LO. I think the Algonquin would work with bourbon and with or without the bitters. Mark and I actually worked on a variant last night that used cherry heering in place of the vermouth. A very different flavor that I hope to work on tonight and post.


Leave a Reply

