Skip navigation

Day 129, Cocktail 129

Yesterday I explored the classic Algonquin cocktail, named for the Algonquin hotel and most likey imbibed by at least a few members of the Algonquin Roundtable.  I also mentioned that Mark and I were working on an updated version of this classic (mostly because he makes that “I hate the way this tastes screwed up baby face” when he tastes dry vermouth).  Last night we were fooling around with various combinations of rye, cheery heering and pineapple juice.    I continued the experimentation this evening and this is what I came up with.

Algonquin Revisited

  • 1-1/2 oz Maker’s Mark bourbon
  • 1/4 oz Cherry Heering
  • 1/4 oz Luxardo Maraschino
  • 1 oz pineapple juice
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters

Fill a shaker with ice cubes and add all the ingredients.  Shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled coupe glass and garnish with a cherry.

This turned out pretty good – a nice, subtle, smokey flavor is imparted by the heering and just a touch of sweet cherry from the maraschino nicely blends with the pineapple.  By the way, many cocktails that use pineapple call for them to be stirred, but I like to shake them because the pineapple juice gets nice and frothy, giving the drink an extra visual appeal.

Have you ever updated a classic?  If so, let me know, I’d love to try it out!

Cheers!

4 Comments

  1. Yo Stan!

    I have a bottle of Stock Maraschino at home. Is there a big difference between that and the Luxardo? I haven’t experimented with the Maraschino much. I’ve only used it once or twice when I attempted an Aviation cocktail, which is quite tasty, and made me appreciate gin a bit more.

    Salut!
    G-LO

    • G-LO – To be honest, I had never heard of Stock maraschino liqueur before your question. I did a little checking, and yes, it appears to be the same stuff, but in the words of another blogger – the Stock is to Luxardo as triple sec is to Cointreau. Here’s the link to that now inactive blog: http://drinkscompanion.wordpress.com/2007/09/04/cocktail-techniques-and-spirits/

      • Thanks for the info! The Luxardo is readily available. I’ll look into it.

        G-LO

  2. Oops… just read your Aviation post. I read about it in an Esquire article. Here’s a link to the article: http://www.esquire.com/dont-miss/useful-part/obscuredrinks0607?click=main_sr


Leave a Reply

