Skip navigation

Day 130, Cocktail 130

Whoopee!  I’m 35.6% of the way through my quixotic quest.  Sorry, the engineer in me just slipped out.  Hang on while I tuck him back away.

There we go.  Now, about today’s drink.  Throughout the various trials with the Algonquin over the last two days I had this nagging feeling that with the pineapple juice what this drink really wanted was rum.  But which of the five rums that I had in the cabinet should I use?  Bacardi 151?  No, way too strong.  Sailor Jerry?  No, spiced rum is great for rum and cokes and not much else.  St. James?  Hmmm, maybe, but it has a very strong, distinctive flavor that I wasn’t sure about when mixed with Heering and Luxardo.  Mt. Gay silver?  No, not enough ass to it.  Well then, I guess that leaves the Appleton Estate.  This is an amber rum from Jamaica (man) and has just a hint of smokiness to go with the sweet molasses flavor.

  Algonquin Rummy

  • 1-1/2 oz Appleton Estate Rum
  • 3/8 oz Cherry Heering
  • 3/8 oz Luxardo Maraschino
  • 1 oz pineapple juice
  • 2 dashes Agnosturo bitters

Combine all the ingredients in your shaker with 5-6 ice cubes.  Shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish is optional, I used a maraschino cherry.

Astute readers will notice that I upped the heering and maraschino by 1/8 oz and added another dash of Agnosturo from the Algonquin Revisited.  This was to overcome the much stronger flavor of the rum and allow the cherry flavors to have the place alongside the rum in the flavor profile of this drink.  As with the Algonquin Revisited, there is a nice, deep sweetly smokey flavor.  However, the rum adds a whole different dimension than the bourbon, make the overall cocktail a bit sweeter.  Give it a try and let me know what you think!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

