Skip navigation

Day 131, Cocktail 131

Live and learn…and maybe someday I’ll learn.  I was flipping through Mittie Hellmich’s Ultimate Bar Book looking for a bourbon recipe tonight.  I saw several candidates, but kept looking, not sure what I wanted.  Then I saw it, the Mint Condition.  I’ve got two bottles of peppermint schnapps that I’d love to get rid of (but cant’ bear the thought of throwing it away), and this recipe used peppermint schnapps.  Never mind that there’s a reason that I want to get rid of this stuff.  I was gonna’ make this cocktail!

  Mint Condition

  • 3/4 oz bourbon
  • 3/4 oz vodka
  • 3/4 oz peppermint schnapps
  • 1/2 oz Kahlua

Combine the ingredients in a shaker with ice cubes and shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled coupe.  No garnish required!

Well, if you like mint flavored mouthwash, you’ll love this.  Otherwise, I wouldn’t recommend trying it. 

That said, I do think that toning down the peppermint schnapps volume and boosting the Kahlua might work.  Maybe taking it down to just 1/4 oz of peppermint schnapps and using 3/4 oz Kahlua.  That combo will have to wait for another day though.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

