Skip navigation

Day 150, Cocktails 149, 150 & 151

Casablanca has always been one of my favorite movies.  Rick Blaine is the penultimate man’s man.  I just love it when Major Strasse asks him about his citizenship and he responds “I’m a drunkard.”  Such was life in simpler times, heh?

Of course, life wasn’t so simple for Rick.  Remember the scene when Ilsa is trying to get his help but makes it clear that she won’t leave Victor.  “We’ll always have Paris” is her line for Rick.  As if that is supposed to make him feel better!

So just where is this all going?  Why, the Parisian cocktail, of course.  Another selection from the Ultimate Bar Book that caught my eye, although I’ve modified this a bit from the original recipe.  That original recipe called for 1 oz each of gin, dry vermouth and creme de cassis.  Hmm, that was just too much creme de cassis for me.  And just what is creme de cassis?  It is a very sweet, blackcurrant flavored liqueur.  The bottle I have is Maison Du Bouchett and is 35 proof.  It is, I must confess, almost as old as dirt as well, which may have given it an aged flavor.  Either way, it’s a very strong liqueur to be used in such quantities.  I did make the original version and it was overwhelming blackcurrant flavored, to the point that as soon as I had the room in the glass I added some more gin.  Tonight’s effort cut down on the creme de cassis and added more gin.  Still strongly flavored by the creme de cassis it was more balanced and I could actually detect both the gin and dry vermouth.

  Parisian Cocktail

  • 1-1/2 oz Plymouth gin
  • 1 oz dry vermouth
  • 1/2 oz creme de cassis

Combine the ingredients with ice in a mixing glass.  Stir to combine and chill.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Now the more that I sipped on this, the more that the flavor of the cassis started to dominate.  I thought I had this one knocked initially, but after a while I wasn’t so sure.  So, back to the bar and I went and worked up this version.

  Ilsa and Rick

  • 1-3/4 oz Plymouth gin
  • 1/2 oz dry vermouth
  • 1/4 oz creme de cassis
  • 1 dash Angostura bitters

Combine the ingredients with ice in a mixing glass.  Stir to combine and chill.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Garnish with an orange twist.

This is it.  I really liked this one, with the cassis now playing a supporting role with the bitters and vermouth, allowing the gin to come out and play.  To my taste buds this is what I want from a cocktail.  Slightly boozy (hey, it is an adult beverage), flavorful and complex.  Try it and let me know what you think!

Cheers!

2 Comments

  1. I love Casablanca! I bet that Parisian cocktail would have been helpful for Rick 🙂 I’m forwarding this recipe to my friend!

    • Thanks – I’ll bet your right about Rick as well!


Leave a Reply

