Skip navigation

Did This Confuse Me?

Day 161, Cocktail 156

Last Sunday I was at Ivee’s to watch the Browns – Ravens game.  As usual, I watched a Browns lead slip away as they turned a win into a loss.  I guess I’ve grown used to it, but still, having a lead in the second half against the hated Ravens and then watch it slip away was painful.

As I was watching the game I began with a Bloody Mary.  However, during the second half I wanted to switch to something else.  Typically I drink bourbon and cola at Ivee’s, but I saw another patron order a vodka cranberry and I thought that sounded good.  So when Terry came over to ask what I’d like next I promptly ordered a vodka rum…and then realized that didn’t make sense as Terry stood there with a startled look on her face.  Uh, make that a vodka bourbon I spit out…what!?!  Oh boy, this was getting worse by the moment…uh, how about a vodka cranberry I finally managed to croak out.  Terry was looking at me like I had horns growing out of my head and laughing the whole time she made my drink.  In fact, she was still giving me a hard time about it last night!

While Terry thought it was bizzare to have vodka and rum together, I knew that it wasn’t as strange as it sounded.  So a little research on the CocktailDB revealed a number of likely candidates.  The Powerhouse looked interesting, so that’s what I tried this afternoon after spending a couple of hours scraping carpet pad up off the floor of the Twilight Lounge.

  Powerhouse

  • 1 oz Galliano
  • 1/2 oz vodka
  • 1/2 oz 151 rum
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/2 oz bar syrup
  • 1 oz orange juice
  • 1/8 oz grenadine

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with 4-5 ice cubes.  Shake to combine and chill.  Strain into a collins glass filled with cracked or crushed ice.

This is a tasty drink, but it seems just a tad disjointed.  The Galliano clashes a bit with the orange juice and there’s a general lack of harmony.  Perhaps a dash of Agnosturo would help pull this together, but that is an experiment for another day.

Tonight we are visiting a new (to us) Mexican restaurant with friends.  While that probably won’t yield any new cocktail opportunities, we are hoping to land at Foundation afterwards and that will yield a new cocktail opportunity!  Stay tuned…

Cheers!

2 Comments

  1. Someone’s going to have to cut you off if you keep ordering Vodka Rums’ 🙂


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] much to do with it (ok, so there are two cocktails I made with it during my 365 day journey, the Powerhouse and the Salt Lake […]

Leave a Reply

