Skip navigation

Day 163, Cocktails 160 & 161

I had a hankering (and who the heck has hankerings anymore?) tonight for something made with whiskey of some sort.  So I picked up the Ultimate Bar Book and started flipping through the whiskey section.  At first I was all fired up for a drink called the Bent Nail.  This is basically the Rusty Nail with Canadian instead of Scotch.  I was sure I had Drambuie…until I found that I didn’t have any Drambuie.  Rats.

Back to the Ultimate Bar Book where I found a very Chad Doll-esque drink called the Blarney Stone.  Let’s see, Irish whiskey – check with the Bushmills.  Cointreau, check.  Maraschino liqueur, check.  Pernod, check.  Angosturo bitters, check.  We are ready to mix!

  Blarney Stone

  • 2 oz Irish whiskey
  • 1/4 oz Cointreau
  • 1/4 oz Pernod
  • 1/8 oz Luxardo Maraschino liqueur
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass with ice.  Stir to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Rim the glass with a lemon peel then twist the lemon peel over the glass.  Dropping the peel in is optional.

I was pretty excited to make this and give it a try since it has so many of the flavors I like together.  However, I’m finding that the Pernod with its anise flavor is overpowering the drink.  Sometimes a cocktail will mellow out and taste better after it has been in the glass for a bit, but it’s just not happening with this one.  That said, I was not to be deterred and decided to play around with the ingredients and see if I could make this a bit tastier.  I decided to half the Pernod and double the Maraschino.  Let’s see what happens.

  Stoned Blarney

  • 2 oz Irish whiskey
  • 1/4 oz Cointreau
  • 1/4 oz Luxardo Maraschino liqueur
  • 1/8 oz Pernod
  • 1 dash Agnosturo bitters

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass with ice.  Stir to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass.  Rim the glass with a lemon peel then twist the lemon peel over the glass.  Dropping the peel in is optional.

To my taste, this is much better.  The Luxardo and Pernod are now in balance with just a hint of orange from the Cointreau.  I can also detect the whisky in this one, something I couldn’t do in the original version. 

So again, I’ve taken a recipe and tinkered with it to match my tastes.  It’s fun and easy to do so – let me know about a cocktail you’ve played around with!

Oh, and by the way, does anyone know what the locals do at the Blarney Stone to screw with the tourists?

Cheers!

One Comment

  1. Funny, I just stumbled on this. I made the same cocktail out of UBB a year or two ago and had exactly the same reaction. I attenuated the Pernod even more than you did, down to just a hint on the tongue (and it’s still plenty noticeable to me). Here’s my version:

    2 oz Irish whiskey
    1/4 oz Cointreau
    1/4 oz maraschino liqueur
    1/4 tsp Pernod
    2 dashes Angostura
    lemon twist


Leave a Reply

