Skip navigation

Day 179, Cocktail 175

What do the Electric Light Orchestra and The Wizard of Oz have in common?  About as much as the name of tonight’s cocktail and the actual drink, that’s what.

I got home late and tired.  After a quick dinner I was ready for a fast and easy cocktail to enjoy while I watched last week’s episode of The Office on the DVR.  I grabbed the Ultimate Bar Book and started thumbing through the vodka section.  I stumbled upon the Ruby Martini, which I will not refer to again by that name (you regulars know why).  It looked good so I gave it a whirl.

  Ruby Cocktail

  • 1-1/2 oz vodka
  • 1/2 oz Blue Curacao
  • 1/2 oz cranberry juice

Combine all the ingredients in a mixing glass with ice and stir to chill and mix.  Strain into a chilled coupe.  Rim the glass with a lemon peel and then twist the peel over the glass and drop it in.

The first thing that strikes me is the blue color of the cocktail.  It’s blue.  Really, really blue.  Why it’s called the Ruby Cocktail is beyond me.  After that it is a pleasant enough cocktail, with notes of orange and cranberry flavors.  However, it’s not going to make the pantheon of cocktails I’m chomping at the bit to have again.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

