Skip navigation

Day 197, Cocktail 191

Wow, I can’t believe that I’m now 6 cocktails behind!  The weekend was spent putting the new floor in the Twilight Lounge – pictures will be coming soon as I still have some trim work to do.  It does look pretty good and (drum roll please…) I now have a dance floor for all those late night parties!

The downside was a lack of new cocktails this weekend – hard to believe, I know.  I’m actually pretty sure I had something new on Friday, but for the life of me I can’t find my notes or recipe – the Lounge is still a mess!  However, I’m back in the saddle with a new one for you tonight.  Actually, I think this will be first in a series for this week…

  Bourbon Buck

  • 2 oz bourbon
  • 5 0z ginger ale

Fill a highball glass with ice and squeeze a lemon wedge into the glass, dropping the spent wedge in.  Add the bourbon and then top with the ginger ale.  Stir and enjoy!

This was a much tastier drink than I expected.  The interplay between the ginger ale and the lemon is very nice with the bourbon as a mellow backdrop.  By the way, I used my favorite, Maker’s Mark for this one.  I have to admit, I’m constantly impressed by the versatility that ginger ale and ginger beers offer when mixing cocktail.  Maybe it goes back to when I was a kid and my mom would make me drink warm ginger ale to settle an upset stomach.  It’s amazing how much better ginger ale tastes when it’s mixed with some booze and ice!

Cheers!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] on the Monterrey Mule and after my experience adding bitters to my classic bourbon and coke in the Bourbon Buck, I figured this would be a tasty cocktail.  I still think it would be, except I didn’t get […]

Leave a Reply

