Skip navigation

Day 201, Cocktails 196 & 197

If you are a regular reader then you know the Friday night is martini night at the Twilight Lounge.  Since starting this whacko journey of 365 cocktails in 365 days it’s hard to limit myself to my traditional martini on Fridays.  However, I can and do imbibe in a martini style cocktail (or two, as was the case this past Friday).

I cracked open Sally Ann Berk’s “The Martini Book” and started perusing.  This is the first one that caught my eye.

  Boardwalk

  • 3 oz vodka
  • 1 oz dry vermouth
  • 1 bar spoon maraschino liqueur
  • 2 bar spoons lemon juice

Combine the ingredients in cocktail shaker with ice.  Shake, shake, shake to chill and mix.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with a lemon twist.

This worked out well, particularly since we were watching James Bond flicks on the DVR (Thunderball, to be exact).  I used Smirnoff vodka and Luxardo’s Maraschino Liqueur.  Just a hint of the maraschino comes through and balances out the vermouth very nicely.  I definately recommend this one. 

Since we were watching James Bond, one is just not enough.  Back to “The Martini Book” and this lovely offering.

  Bronx Terrace Cocktail

  • 3 oz gin
  • 1 oz lime juice
  • 1 oz dry vermouth

Combine the ingredients in cocktail shaker with ice.  Shake, shake, shake to chill and mix.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with a lime twist. 

The recipe in the book called for a maraschino cherry for the garnish.  Perhaps if I had a real maraschino cherry that had been soaked in vodka I might have, but I couldn’t see the sweet, red cherries sitting in my fridge sitting in this drink.  For the gin I used Bombay.  This one is different.  Because of the lime juice, it’s almost like drinking a margarita, just, well, different.  I might try this one again, but I won’t be in any hurry.

By the time we finished the second drink Bond was in a life raft with Domino…lucky him!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

