Skip navigation

Day 202, Cocktail 198

Last Saturday found us meeting friends in front of the local bake shop before the Germantown Christmas parade.  I was aimlessly wandering through the store looking at all the cake decorating stuff, wondering if I would find anything that would make an interesting garnish or decoration for cocktails.  I didn’t really see anything I liked until I hit the flavorings aisle.  There they were, tiny, shiny bottles filled with extracts and flavorings…pecan, almond, root beer…on and on they went.  Forget the garnishes, I’ve found a whole new world to play with!

On to the parade, which was fun (although just not the same without Andrea and her hot buttered rums) and then to the Twilight Lounge for some experimenting.  I love pecan pie but don’t like to bake.  But then again, why should I bake when I can mix?

  Pecan Pie

  • 2 oz Maker’s Mark bourbon
  • 1 oz Cointreau
  • 2 drops of pecan flavor extract
  • 2 bar spoons of bar syrup

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with ice.  Shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled coupe.  Garnish with an orange twist.

Admittedly, it took several tries to get this right (fortunately, Gwen helped drink the experiments!) but when I did, it was Wow!  A slightly sweet, nutty pecan flavor comes through with a backdrop of orange.  What I like is that the bourbon also shines in this, adding it’s own layer of flavor and complexity.  This one will definately be on the menu when we have friends and family over for Thanksgiving dinner!

Cheers!

One Comment

  1. MMM this sounds delish! Cute blog! I like to write about cocktails too! So fun….good luck! I’ll be following ya 🙂


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] treats we moved on to dinner.  After dinner it was time for a liquid dessert and I broke out the Pecan Pie.  Again, a bullseye!  Even Greg enjoyed it, even though he doesn’t like pecan […]

  2. […] Not sure if I’ll get into any new cocktails today as I plan on serving up Caramel Apples and Pecan Pies.  If I do, you’ll read all about in the next […]

Leave a Reply

