Skip navigation

Day 204, Cocktail 199

By last Monday I finally had the new floor down in the Twilight Lounge.  The quarter round trim is still left to do and I started on that by staining the pieces I had bought.  With that task out of the way that left me time for a cocktail while I watched the football game.

A bag of fresh oranges in the house I knew I wanted to find a cocktail last Monday that would use some of them.  I’ve become a fan of orange and rye whiskey flavors together so I hit the CocktailDB website and searched for rye and orange juice.  There were a number of interesting choices, but one in particular really piqued my interest.

  Queen’s Hotel

  • 1 oz rye whiskey
  • 1 oz gin
  • 1 oz orange juice
  • 2 dashes Agnosturo orange bitters
  • 1 bar spoon dry vermouth

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with ice and shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with an orange twist or orange peel.

This was a very nice blend of flavors, with the rye, orange juice and orange bitters providing a pleasing, orange flavored experience.  I used Jim Beam rye (and Bombay gin) for this and the Beam provided a nice, mellow flavor.  The gin and vermouth were detectable in the background and served to lighten up this drink.  Both Gwen and I really enjoyed it!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

