Skip navigation

Day 226, Cocktail 224

I know, I know, I just popped my best Dean Martin line as a post title.  But will the cocktail stand up to a kick in the head?  Let’s find out.

Tuesday’s cocktail was something called Cameron’s Kick.  It’s another classic, prohibition area cocktail with a murky past.  It did appear in the Savoy cocktail book, published in London in 1930 and considered an iconic recipe book for bartenders and enthusiasts alike.  The recipe I used is pretty close to the Savoy version.  However, if you google Cameron’s Kick Cocktail you’ll find all kinds of variants both in ingredients and in proportion.  Of course, that’s what makes cocktails so much fun!

  Cameron’s Kick

  • 1 oz blended scotch
  • 1 oz Irish whiskey
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/2 oz orgeat

Combine the ingredients in a shaker with ice.  Shake, shake, shake to mix and chill.  Strain into a chilled coupe.  Garnish with an orange peel or orange twist if desired.

Yes, this is another one of those cocktails that when I first looked at the ingredient list I though “you’ve got to be kidding!”.  To be honest, my first sip wasn’t all that pleasant either.  The flavor profile went from the scotch to the whiskey to the lemon to the almond of the orgeat…to, I don’t know, maybe baby puke?  The interesting thing was that as this had some time to sit in the glass and blend it got better.  By the time I was halfway through I was quite pleased with this drink.  Not too sweet, not too boozy, it was just right.  And to my suprise (well, maybe not, I’ve gotten used to unusual ingredient combinations) this unusual blend of flavors worked well together.

Do you have an odd drink?  Let me know and I’ll try it out!

Cheers!

 

One Comment

  1. yum! whiskey and lemon is the way to go…kinda a lynchberg lemonade blend. sounds delish!


Leave a Reply

