Skip navigation

Day 233, Cocktail 231

Ah yes, the eternal question, Ginger or Mary Ann?  Spicy, redheaded, buxom Ginger or the practical, girl next door Mary Ann?  Supposedly you can what kind of man he is by his answer to this question…Ginger or Mary Ann? 

Last night was Ginger’s night at the Twilight Lounge.  I had been at World Market over the weekend and picked up a bottle of Old Ballycastle Ginger.  This mixer, produced by Powell & Mahoney, caught my eye.  I figured it would be an interesting way to add ginger flavors to cocktails.  So on Tuesday I pulled it out and started playing around.  It definately tastes like ginger, but it also has a spicy after note, as in spicy hot.  Not too hot, but enough to let you know it’s there.

After tasting the Old Ballycastle Ginger I knew that this was just screaming for tequila.  Yet, I wasn’t in the mood for tequila and decided to work it with rye and orange juice.  Here’s the result:

  Ginger Rye

  • 2 oz Jim Beam rye
  • 1 oz orange juice
  • 1 oz Old Ballycastle Ginger
  • 1 dash Angosturo bitters

Combine the ingredients in a shaker and shake, shake, shake to chill and combine.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with an orange peel.

A very flavorful cocktail with the ginger and orange combining nicely to complement the rye.  The spiciness of the ginger is barely there, but I did get a hint of it.  I was a bit suprised that it wasn’t more prevalent given how strong it was by itself.  I also really had to sneak up on this one and ended up with much more of the ginger than I thougth I would in it.

Oh, and I’ve always been a Mrs. Howell man.  She’s the one with the money!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

