Skip navigation

Day 237, Cocktail 237

Saturday night Gwen and I met our friends Jodi and Joe for dinner and cocktails.  Our first stop was dinner at the Comet Cafe which was terric, as always.  Since I had a previously reported on Brandy Old Fashioned, that didn’t qualify as a new cocktail for the day.  After dinner we headed over to the Hi Hat for a drink.  They have put in place a new speciality cocktail menu and I was more than happy to try something from that menu.  A drink called The Final Straw is what I ordered.  It consists of Sombra Mescal, Yellow Chartreuse, Luxardo Maraschino Liqueur, fresh lemon juice, Fee Brothers Peach bitters and, finally, a Laphroaig rinse.  Whew!  If this doesn’t have Chad Doll’s fingerprints all over it I’ll be shocked.

So how was it, you ask.  Unfortunately, I have to say OK.  The flavor was dominated by the Laphroaig (maybe they gave it a bath instead of a rinse).  I could catch a bit of the maraschino, but every thing else was drowned out by the scotch.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love Laphroaig, but it just didn’t play well with everything else that was in this drink.  On the plus side, Gwen’s Pink Lady was excellent!  Overall, the atmosphere was hopping and we had a good time.

Cheers!

4 Comments

  1. Very nice post

  2. Yo Stan!

    A cocktail with Laphroaig? It takes alot to tame that wild spirit! But then, you can’t blame a bartender for giving it a try. Perhaps a Dahlwhinnie or something lighter would work better. I’m sure you’ll work on that recipe!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • G-LO, I really think they just went overboard with the rinse. I say this because the next cocktail I ordered was an Aviation and it was served to me on the rocks, with the wrong proportions. It was my unfortunate timing to not be there when either Chad or Daniel were around.

      • Guess the A-Team wasn’t working that night! Hate when that happens. Similar experience this past Sunday, but with simpler beverages, i.e. draught beer. Our usual bartender wasn’t working for whatever reason (mourning a Steelers loss is one theory). While the substitute was pleasant enough, the pours were sloppier than usual. Luckily, it didn’t matter anymore after our second high-octane brew. 🙂

        Buon Natale!
        G-LO


Leave a Reply

