Skip navigation

Day 240, Cocktail 238

Well, I suppose it was bound to happen sooner later…

After taking a two day cocktail hiatus, I got back to mixing on Tuesday with a cocktail that I saw on the Travel Channel show “Mixing With the Best”.  Yeah, I know that both the show and the channel no longer are around, but sometimes I get a little backed up with what’s on the DVR.

  Da Vinci Cocktail

  • 1-1/2 oz white rum
  • 1 oz Frangelico liqueur
  • 1-1/2 oz orange juice (the juice of 1/2 orange)

Shake with ice and strain into a cocktail glass.  Garnish with an orange peel.

As I was sipping on this I thought it tasted awfully familiar.  So I opened up the cocktail list, and there it was, the Almond Orange Sunrise.  Ok, so its not the exact same, using almond flavored orgeat instead of the hazelnut flavored Frangelico, but still, it was damn close.  Not that it’s going to kill me or anything, but it was kind of funny, in a you’d have to have been there kind of way.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

