Skip navigation

Day 345, Cocktail 352

Wednesday was my window of opportunity to smoke some beef brisket.  As some of you already know, when I roll out the smoker and make BBQ, whether it’s pork shoulder, brisket, turkey or ribs, it’s an all day affair for me.  And to be honest, I enjoy it immensely, in part because it’s a great reason to sit outside most of the day and sip bourbon laced cocktails!

Typically I would have enjoyed a simple bourbon and cola or perhaps just on the rocks.  When I lived in the Carolina’s it would have been bourbon and Mello Yello (if you haven’t tried that you do not know what you’re missing!).  On Wednesday I decided to be adventurous and a recipe I found at Drinks Mixer website.  Here it is:

  Bourbon Black Hawk

  • 2 oz bourbon
  • 1 oz sloe gin

Combine the ingredients in a rocks glass with ice and stir to mix.

A pretty straightforward drink, which is, frankly, overly sweet and doesn’t allow for much of the character of the bourbon to come through.  I used Evan Williams bourbon but could hardly tell it was there through the sloe gin.  I guess it was nice to try, but I don’t expect to make this one again.

As for the brisket, well, it turned out rather nicely!

Cheers!

3 Comments

  1. Duuuude! That brisket looks delicious!

    Buon Appetito! 🙂

    G-LO

  2. That brisket looks amazing. I grill all year round, but tend to smoke more meat in the spring and summer. Haven’t made a brisket in awhile.

    • Greg and G-Lo, thanks for the comments! It was delicious, although most of it ended up in chili for a cookoff tonight. I also like to use the grill year round but Wisconsin winters sometimes necessitate using the broiler. My smoker does see heavy use from April through October though!


Leave a Reply

