Skip navigation

Milwaukee, WI – March 10, 2011

Two sure signs of spring in Milwaukee are when the ice melts completely from my pool (and when the stories about ice fishers losing their trucks in lakes run in the paper) and the food trucks appear on the streets again.  The good news is both happened this weekend!

Yesterday, after a morning haircut and some shopping I was on my way home when I spied an El Charrito taco truck sitting on the side of the road.  I did a quick circle around the block and pulled up behind him.  Boy, am I glad I did!

The menu is basic and straightforward – tacos, quesadilla, tostadas,and burritos with a variety of meat options – pork, chicken, chorizo, steak.  For the more adventurous the options include head, tongue and chitlin.  I also appreciated the selection of Jarritos sodas that are available.

I ordered two pork tacos with a lime Jarritos.  At $4.50 I had a meal that was enough for my lunch time appetite, and was far tastier than anything from any fast food joint.  Oops, did I just give away my review?  Damn…

Yes, the tacos were excellent.  The corn tortillas were firm and strong enough to hold the spicy pork, lettuce, tomato and onion.  The pork was flavorful and the whole package was about as authentic as it gets.  Washing it all down with the Jarritos was just a bonus.  

The only drawback to the experience was eating off my lap in the car.  Hopefully next time the location will be adjacent to a park or some other place with picnic tables near by.  

I definitely recommend giving the El Charrito truck a try when you see it!

Leave a Reply

