Skip navigation

You Drank Cocktails Made With That!?!

Day 44, Cocktails 39, 40 and 41

In my previous post I described my friend and business associate Ashish’s dinner drink consisting of Maker’s Mark and Amaretto.  However, the real purpose of dinner was just to get ready for a visit to my favorite cocktail lounge, Bryant’s.  I had been telling Ashish about the great combination of atmosphere and drinks there and he was anxious to try it out.  Fortunately for us Chad Doll was on duty and we were in for a treat!

As usual, I threw myself at the mercy of Chad’s bartending talents.  However, somewhat uncharacteristically of me, I asked what he could put together with Scotch.  This is quite a departure for me as I typically place Scotch, particularly single malts, on an altar and savor them neat or maybe with a couple of ice cubes, but never, ever mixed with anything else (the Smokey Vesper excepted).  However, Chad, being familiar with my tastes and idiosyncracies came up with this gem for me.

New Coat of Paint

  • Dewar’s Scotch
  • Drambuie liqueur
  • Lemon juice
  • Luxardo Maraschino liqueur
  • Peychaud’s bitters

Chad served this up in a chilled coupe and it blew me away!  The combination of the Dewar’s and Drambuie was perfectly complimented by the Luxardo (man, I do like my Luxardo!)  It was the perfect sipper and went down very smooth and easy…almost too smooth and easy!

With my appetite whetted, I asked for another Scotch drink.  Of course Chad obliged, with a classic this time.

  Rusty Nail

  • 2 oz blended scotch
  • 3/4 oz Drambuie

In a shaker glass combine the scotch and Drambuie.  Stir to mix and pour over ice cubes in a rocks glass.  Garnish with a flamed lemon peel.

This was another first for me and again, it was delicious.  I was beginning to seriously get that I’ve been missing out on a lot with my deification of scotch.

My third and last drink of the night has an amusing story.  I was ready for a change of pace as Ashish and I had been talking about gins.  Chad, meanwhile, had also been making a few cocktails for some of the other patrons using cucumber.  So, when he asked what I’d like next I asked for something with gin and cucumber.  It’s a good thing that I promptly forgot that request because he made me bourbon based cocktail.  As I quizzed Chad on the ingredients he suddenly slapped his forehead and exclaimed “You asked for gin and cucumber!”  We all got a good laugh while I enjoyed my last drink of the night.

  No Name

  • Bourbon
  • Calvados
  • Agave nectar
  • Agnosturo bitters

Another really good blend of flavors.  The apple of the Calvados was a great compliment to the bourbon and bitters with the agave nectar providing the necessary sweetness.  Agave has been one of the hot “flavors of the moment” and I think it’s time I picked some up to play with at the Twilight Lounge.

Ashish, I hope you enjoyed your Bryant’s experience!

Cheers!

2 Comments

  1. Chad won a national Drambuie sponsored competition about a year ago with a drink he calls Strange Weather. It’s my favorite drink (being a sucker for Heering and gin. In case you haven’t whipped one up yet…

    2 oz. dry gin – I used Bombay Sapphire
    3/4 oz. Drambuie
    3/4 oz. Cherry Heering
    1 oz. fresh orange juice
    3/4 oz. fresh lemon juice
    3/4 oz. agave nectar – took me 2 weeks to find in Racine. A month after I found it, I found tons of it at WalMart, go figure.

    Tools: shaker, strainer
    Glass: coupe
    Garnish: 3 drops Angostura bitters and an orchid flower

    Combine all ingredients in a shaker with ice, shake vigorously, strain into a chilled glass and garnish.

    I’ve made a few of these, and while I’ve never made one half as good as Chad makes them, I found a couple tweaks that I like.

    1.) Replace bitters with Bittercube Orange Bitters

    -or-

    2.) Replace bitters with Bittercube Cherry Bark Vanilla Bitters

    Rich

    • Thanks for Chad’s recipe – I think I’ve had this drink when Chad was still at Bryant’s, but did not have the recipe. I’ll definately be trying this out – as soon as I get the agave nectar. You are right about the way that agave has become the “in” ingredient these days.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Tonight I have two cocktails that are original recipes (as far as I know) and are variations on the same theme.  The first is a classic style cocktail that I call a Nailed Apple.  The name comes from the twist that this is on a Rusty Nail.  […]

Leave a Reply

