Skip navigation

Day 72, Cocktail 71

Tuesday nights are one of my nights to make dinner.  Since its summer, that usually means the grill gets fired up and tonight was no exception.  Steaks were on the menu (nice, 1-1/2″ thick NY Strips) and whenever I’m cooking, especially over live fire, I like to have a cocktail nearby (hey, you have to be ready to put out the flare ups!).  I was in the mood for something with gin (since the Bombay was still sitting out on the bar), so I pulled down the Cocktail Bible and looked up drinks under gin in the index.  Wow, I thought, there’s a Slow Comfortable Screw – I didn’t know that was made with gin.  I flipped to the page with it, and well, it’s made with gin, Sloe Gin to be precise.  What the heck, I decided, let’s give it a whirl.  What you see below is my twist on this popular favorite.

  Slow Comfortable Screw

  • 2 oz sloe gin
  • 2 oz orange juice
  • seltzer water

Fill a chilled pint glass about 2/3 full with ice cubes.  Add the sloe gin and orange juice and then top with selter water.  Stir and garnish with an orange slice.

To be honest with you, this was just too sweet for my taste.  In fact, the last time I had sloe gin was a sloe gin fizz my sophomore year of college at the engineering formal (hey, its what my date wanted).  The bottle I have now has been hanging around the Twilight Lounge for a few years now and was way in the back of the cabinet.  On the plus side, though, the steaks and garlic cheese mashed potatoes were excellent!

Leave a Reply

