Skip navigation

Day 177, Cocktails 171 & 172

Oh what a happy day it was when the new Woodmen’s store near us opened up!  Among the many wonders is the very large selection of Asian foods.  It is the best selection you can find around here without going to an Asian market.  So what, you ask?  Well, in addition to the pork and leek dumplings for dinner tonight it was the lychee juice that I was able to purchase there that has me excited.  I”ve been itching to work with lychee flavors in cocktails ever since having the Springtime cocktail at Bryant’s way back in the beginning of June. 

So with my can of lychee juice in hand, it was time to see what I could do.  My first effort was actually a nonalcoholic cocktail for daughter number 2.  She enjoys the tart, lemon juice based concoctions that I create for her and she loves lychee.  Here’s what I put together for her.

  LuLu

  • 2 oz lychee juice
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/4 oz grenadine
  • seltzer water

Combine the ingredients, except the seltzer water, in a pint glass.  Stir and then fill the glass with ice and top with the seltzer water.  Garnish with a lemon wedge or slice.

This is a nice, slightly sweet, lychee flavored cooler that would be great for sipping poolside or with an Asian meal.  The great thing about this is that it is not overly sweet, so sipping on one for the afternoon won’t leave you with that syrupy flavor in your mouth!

With Lulu satisfied, it was time to take care of Gwen and me.  I figured that the same flavors (or thereabouts) should work well for an adult cocktail as well.  Thus, the Lucky Fortune was born.

  Lucky Fortune

  • 2 oz vodka
  • 1 oz lychee juice
  • 3/8 oz lemon juice
  • 1/4 oz grenadine

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with ice and shake, shake, shake.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with a lemon peel.

Hmm, hmm good is all I can say.  The lychee really pops in this, while the lemon juice keeps it from being overly sweet.  The vodka (Smirnoff, in this case) is there, but is really just the backbone while the grenadine provides a subtle layer of flavor.  I could drink this all night and be very be very lucky indeed!

With the Lucky Fortune under my belt and me writing about it I started to think about what other flavors would work with the lychee.  Ginger came to mind, being one of those quintessential Asian flavors.  So back to the bar it was.  It took a couple of tries to get the balance right (good thing Gwen was here to drink the samples) and this is what I settled on.

  Lucky Ginger

  • 2 oz vodka
  • 1 oz lychee juice
  • 1/2 oz Domaine de Canton
  • 3/8 oz lemon juice

Combine all the ingredients in a shaker with ice and shake, shake, shake.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass and garnish with a lemon peel.  If you’re feeling adventurous, use pickled ginger or even a water chestnut for garnish instead of the lemon peel!

Well, there you have it, a very satisfying night of lychee inspired cocktails.  I’ve still got a little left, so we’ll see what I come up with tomorrow.  Until then….

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

