Skip navigation

Day 175, Cocktails 168 & 169

After a full day of working on the floor at the Twilight Lounge I’m happy to report that the old carpet pad is finally and completely gone, leaving me with a bare concrete floor.  That will be remedied soon – the new cork laminate floor has been ordered and will arrive in a couple of weeks.  By early November it will be back to normal!

So, what to do now to relax?  Well, since I know it won’t be long before the Twilight Lounge is more suave and debonair than ever, what better way to unwind than with the Debonair Cocktail?

  Debonair Cocktail

  • 2 oz Scotch
  • 1 oz Domaine de Canton liqueur

Combine the scotch and Domaine de Canton on a mixing glass with ice.  Stir to chill and combine.  Strain into a chilled coupe and garnish with a lemon twist.

This is a cocktail that will really change based on the scotch that you used.  I kept it basic by using my house blended Scotch, Cutty Sark (although I do admit I’d love to try this with the much smokier Laphroig some day).  I enjoyed this cocktail but the sweet ginger of the Domaine de Canton completely overwhelmed the Cutty Sark.  With that thought in mind it was back to the bar.  I knew I could come up with a better balance.

  Suave and Debonair

  • 2-1/4 oz Scotch
  • 1/2 oz Domaine de Canton

Combine the scotch and Domaine de Canton on a mixing glass with ice.  Stir to chill and combine.  Strain into a chilled coupe and garnish with a lemon twist.

Now this effort really hit the spot!  The scotch is mellowed just enough by the Domaine de Canton to allow both flavors to intermingle and shine through.  I really enjoyed the balance and flavor of this cocktail.

Got a time when you adjusted a cocktail to suit your tastes?  Let me know and I’ll share with my readers!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

