Skip navigation

I’m at the Twilight Lounge and you’re not!

 Day 91, Cocktails 93 & 94

Day 91 was last Sunday, I by then I had two more cocktails to tell you about.  The first cocktail I enjoyed at the Comet Cafe located in Milwaukee’s Eastside.  The Comet was featured on the Food Network show Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, so we decided to give it a try.  I’m glad we did!  The Comet features local ingredients prepared with a minimum of fuss.  They also feature a complete bar.  As I perused the drink menu I realized that this would be the place to try a Wisconsin favorite, the Brandy Old Fashioned.  At the Comet the Brandy Old Fashioned starts with muddled cherries, orange, sugar and bitters.  Brandy and sour mix are added and then served over ice, garnished with an orange and cherry.  This was a delicious cocktail, with bright, fresh flavors.  5 stars to the Comet Cafe for a great execution of this Wisconsin classic. 

Sunday evening found me at Mark Stoffel’s for a drink before heading to the Rave for the Thrill Kill Kult and Lords of Acid show.  Yes, the show was fantastic, especially the Lords of Acid as all the original members are still with the group.  I even found my way into the mosh pit for a spell, and lived to tell about it! 

Back to Mark’s house.  He had a variety of fruits out along with a bottle of vodka.  So, I grabbed a pint glass and four or five strawberries.  I crushed the strawberries into the glass and filled the glass with ice, 2 oz of vodka, 1 oz lemon juice and 1 oz bar syrup.  I stirred all this together and then topped it with tonic water.  The result was a refreshing strawberry lemonade that will get you of the Mike’s hard lemonade for life! 

  Strawberry Lemonade 

  • 4-5 fresh strawberries
  • 2 oz vodka
  • 1 oz lemon juice
  • 1 oz bar syrup
  • tonic water

Give this one a try on a hot day – it will cool you off! 

Cheers!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] was dinner at the Comet Cafe which was terric, as always.  Since I had a previously reported on Brandy Old Fashioned, that didn’t qualify as a new cocktail for the day.  After dinner we headed over to the Hi […]

Leave a Reply

